IIT Roorkee Research Awards/ Khosla National Awards Guidelines

KHOSLA NATIONAL AWARDS

- (A) Two "Khosla National Awards of IIT Roorkee" can be given every year, one in the Engineering category and the other in Science/HSS/Management category.
- (B) The nominations can be made by S.S. Bhatnagar Prize Awardees, Fellows of the National Academies or Heads of Institutions.
- (C) Self nominations will also be considered.
- (D) Each "Khosla National Award of IIT Roorkee" will carry a citation and a cash prize of Rs. Five lakhs.

ELIGIBILITY

- 1. The nominees should have made outstanding contributions in their chosen field and should not be more than 45 years of age.
- 2. The nominee should be an Indian National.
- 3. The contributions based on work carried out in India will be considered for the awards.

AWARD COMMITTEE

- 1. Director, IIT Roorkee, Chair
- i) Three distinguished academics from Engineering
- ii) Two distinguished academics from Sciences
- ii) One distinguished academic from HSS/Management

Note: Every effort will be made to have some members who are S.S. Bhatnagar prize winners. If any, there will not be more than one committee member from IIT Roorkee or its alumni.

BROAD OUTLINE OF PROCEDURE

- (A) In case of similar level of achievements, female, or else the younger candidate will be preferred. There will not be any splitting of the award between two or more awardees in either category.
- (B) In case no outstanding candidate is available in a category, the committee can recommend that no award be given in that year, in that category.
- (C) The award committee will meet, at least, twice every year. In the first meeting, the committee will shortlist 5 to 6 potential awardees from the pool of valid nominations and decide a panel of at least 5 referees for each shortlisted nomination. In the second meeting,

referees' reports will be discussed and deliberated. At most two nominations will be recommended to the BoG of IIT Roorkee.

AWARD CEREMONY

The awardees will be expected to visit the campus for receiving their award and also deliver a lecture during their visit. Depending on the convenience of an awardee, the award can be given during any public event in the campus such as a conference, Convocation, Science Day or Foundation Day of IIT Roorkee.

HRED River Ganga Rejuvenation Award

Annual Research Award titled HRED River Ganga Rejuvenation Award will be given to any national or international researcher who is working for Ganga Rejuvenation work of scientific, social, environmental, legal and financial nature. The annual award of Rs.3.00 lac will be given to awardee.

HRED Hydro & Renewable Energy Award

Annual Research Award titled HRED Hydro & Renewable Energy Award will be given to any national or international researcher who is working in the subject covering hydro resource assessment, optimization, integration, new technology development etc area the annual award of Rs. 1.00 lac will be given to awardee.

0.P. Jain Memorial Structural Design Award

0. P. Jain Memorial Structural Design Award to honour a Structural engineer of Indian nationality for his/her innovative/exemplary work in the field of the structural design. The annual award of Rs. 1,00,000 (Rs. One lakh Only) will be given to the awardee.

A.S. Arya-IITR Disaster Prevention Award

The A.S. Arya-IITR Disaster Prevention Award of Rs. 1,00,000/- would be conferred to an Indian national for outstanding contribution in the area of Disaster Prevention/ Mitigation. The term disaster shall include all types of Natural Disasters, Earthquakes, Cyclones, Floods, Land Slides, Forest Fires and Snow Avalanche. It may be awarded to one person or may be shared by two persons if more than one outstanding nomination are recommended by the award committee. He/she shall have distinguished himself/herself through outstanding work and internationally recognized action, going beyond the scope of his/her normal functions in one or more of the following: —

- 1. The implementation at national or regional level, of activities designed to strengthen people's awareness of natural disasters.
- 2. The launching of scientific activities contributing to technological innovation facilitating disaster prediction.

- 3. The launching of scientific activities contributing to the strengthening disaster prevention and preparedness.
- 4. The promotion of activities which reduce the economic impact of disasters and which contribute to sustainable developments.
- 5. Other activities integrating disaster prevention and preparedness into develop planning.

Gopal Ranjan Technology Award

Gopal Ranjan Technology Award of Rs. 1,00,000/- will be given to a deserving person on the basis of his/her "Creative Work' in the fields of Soil Characteristics/ Foundation Engineering/ Ground Improvement / Soil Structure Interaction/ Engineering Geology/ Underground Structures/ Rock Mechanics / Subsurface including marine structure in India. The award shall be given to an Indian National or an alumni of IIT Roorkee (or its predecessor University of Roorkee) of any nationality. Self-nomination will also be accepted.

Shamsher Prakash Technology Award

The Annual Award of Rs. 1,00,000/- is awarded for an outstanding work in the field of Geotechnical and/or Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering. The award is open to a renowned young Indian Engineer, Scientist or Researcher who has not completed 45 years of age as on 30th June 2024. The award will be primarily based on the research work done in the past five years. Self-nomination will also be accepted.

Virendra Nath Malti Mital Award

The Annual Award of Rs. 1,00,000/- is given to an eminent Engineer for Innovative and Creative Work with patent in the field of Engineering in India in any discipline to an Indian National for the work done in India. Self-nomination will also be accepted.

Prof. A. S. Arya Young Earthquake Engineer Award

Prof. A. S. Arya Young Earthquake Engineer Award of Rs. 50,000/- and citation would be given to an eminent Indian engineer younger than 35 years on 30th June 2024 and having a Master's Degree in Earthquake Engineering/Structural Dynamics/Soil Dynamics. The research work submitted for consideration should either be the thesis for Master or Ph.D. degree or one or more research papers published in refereed journals of repute. Selfnomination will also be accepted.

Mahesh Varma Technology Innovation Award

Mahesh Varma Technology Innovation Award of Rs. 50,000/- is given annually for outstanding contribution made by a young engineer, technologist of Indian nationality or an Indian organization through original research in the field of innovation in Construction Technology and/or Construction Project Management/ Management of Technology, characterized by theoretical work or applied research done in India during the five years preceding the year of award.

Prof. S. R. Mehra Memorial Award

Prof. S. R. Mehra Memorial Award of Rs. 50,000/- will be given for research in Transportation Engg/ Soil Mechanics. This award is made once in every two years for outstanding contributions made by an Indian engineer, Technologist or Scientist through original research in the field of Transportation Engg /Soil Mechanics categorized by theoretical work or applied research done in India during the five years preceding the year of award.